LeftFoot1st

RECYCLING SAMPLES....

What's your opinion on people taking samples used by cats like Pete Rock, Primo, Madlib etc and making new beats out of the same exact loop used....I've been seeing people doing this lately....like, the only difference is drums and percussion...why do people do that?....maybe they didn't know it was already used, but it's hard to believe that when half ya tracks come from other peoples sample choices.

It's whack. It's like sloppy seconds. Find your own shit or flip it in an original way. I always try to find if certain samples I'm planning on using have been used before and if so in what capacity. If I can't bring anything new to it (besides drums) then I dont fuck with it. I'm not a cover artist...

• Like 2

It's whack. It's like sloppy seconds. Find your own shit or flip it in an original way. I always try to find if certain samples I'm planning on using have been used before and if so in what capacity. If I can't bring anything new to it (besides drums) then I dont fuck with it. I'm not a cover artist...

Facts, I been seeing a lot of sample biting going down recently... like, just plain obvious shit.. it's cool if you use the sample, but the least you can do is chop it up a bit and omit some parts from the loops... even if it's played out the same exact way.. just chop some parts out so it's not the entire loops anymore....some people just lazy ... the song that made me write this took the loop and made the shit lofi and had cool percussion and all that, but im just like... why? go to another track on that album. go deeper into the song.

This mindset is retarded. If you find a dope sample, use it how you want to use it. Shit, you can even try and make it hotter than the producer who sampled it originally. Even Dilla would use Pete Rocks samples. Maybe he wouldn't release the beats, but he would do it to practice and step his shit up. Plenty of tracks are sampled by multiple cats.