mattb1191

money folder

ok this is a really basic thing probably but im new to producing (especially with hardware), but how the hell did madlib do those drums on money folder off of madvillainy. those drums embody everything id want to do as a producer, and ive heard a bunch of information about what he used for the album but i keep hearing different things. and no i dont think if i get that equipment ill be able to make beats like madlib but id just like to know how he got that amazing sound on the drums.

That all has to do with the specific drums he used and how they were sequenced. (sonic sound and pattern) The drum pattern is basically two different segements. Either the drum break was already like that and he sampled it with the 303 or he chopped it up and did it with the SP1200. (That's my guess)

To me....

Money Folder's drums sound like a straight loop....

It sounds pretty repetitive....maybe 4 bars. Bar 1 and 2 sound the same.....3 and 4 are different.

I'm not listening to it right now but I know that drum beat well because I've studied it and everytime

I listen to the song....I tap it out to see if I can do it accurately throughout the song without messing up...

does anyone else do nerdy shit like that? lol.

• Like 2

i reckon he played them..... finding a break like that on a record would blow my mind... or make me blind, or something!! reckon he's played drums and looped/ chopped them on a few of his jawns -- he's got the ability to do it. why wouldn't he?

i reckon he played them..... finding a break like that on a record would blow my mind... or make me blind, or something!! reckon he's played drums and looped/ chopped them on a few of his jawns -- he's got the ability to do it. why wouldn't he?

yeah i know what you mean man those drums sound almost too good to have come accross them on some record, but i mean with all the digging madlib does i really wouldnt be surprised